Frankly Speaking

Frank Paavo


Track List
1. Overture 3:51
2. Flea Market 7:50
3. Miniature I 2:46
4. Painting the Town 8:26
5. Hidden Views 6:27
6. City Eyes 8:52
7. Miniature II 0:54
8. Silent Colors 7:14
All compositions and arrangements by Frank Paavo

Liner notes
“In the midst of modern society, with its overwhelming density of sounds and notes, nothing expresses our emotional truth more than music can. Amsterdam-based saxophonist and composer Frank Paavo joyfully and playfully captures the moods and movements of the energetic metropolis with his new ensemble that offers a rich palette of versatility and originality, covering three generations of far-reaching artistic exploration. At the helm, Paavo makes the trip worthwhile. His music breathes the past and present tense simultaneously, scintillatingly referring to the memory of the lively improv sessions at the old Bimhuis, and yet, at the same time eagerly anticipating and facilitating the promises and the unknown of improvised music yet to come. The Dutch have always had a reputation for bringing a lofty and witty counter voice to jazz, the greatest of all original American art forms, with such greats as Willem Breuker, Han Bennink and Mischa Mengelberg — and Frank Paavo’s narrative saxophone paintings are no exception. He never settles for the known, but gently and gracefully approaches the unknown in an animated conversation. With fresh melodies, strong ensemble playing and daring arrangements Frankly Speaking is an album of pure musical expression that reflects the dynamics of living in this crazy little place we call the here and now. Let’s dance together into the unknown.”

Contact / general info
Frank Paavo


Artist credits
Frank Paavo - sopranosax / tenorsax
Tom Ridderbeekx - trumpet / flugelhorn
Thijs Cuppen - Steinway grand piano / fender rhodEs
Marijn van de Ven - double bass / electric bass
Mateusz Pulawski - electric guitar
Bart van Helsdingen - drums / percussion

General credits
Produced by Frank Paavo / Paavo Music Poductions
Recorded June 7 and 24, 2021 at the Key Element Studio, Amsterdam
Recording engineer: Ralph Verdult
Photography: Dingena Mol
Artwork and liner notes: Tom Beek
This album was made possible with support from Cultuur & Ondernemen and Sena