Your Smile, s’il vous plaît


It is the time of year for soft indie ballads that feature warm vocals and loving tenderness. Last December, Melqui delivered the perfect album for those wanting to expand their horizons while being gently serenaded – in Spanish, English, and French.
Lead singer and songwriter Lautaro Hochman is effortlessly equal parts charming and thoughtful throughout the album, bringing to life a love story that isn’t just about two people – but about places and times and the impact they have on our lives.

Melqui’s debut album, ‘Your Smile, s’il sous plaît’ spans space and time, encompassing enough different places and languages that it becomes relatable to anyone who understands the universal language of emotion. The vulnerability within the album needs to be witnessed firsthand.
The live band features an eclectic international lineup from the Netherlands, the US, Spain, and Israel, formally trained in Jazz and Classical Music at the Conservatory in Amsterdam, resulting in a unique and compelling musical journey that showcases their versatility and creativity. In their captivating live performances, each member brings their own unique charisma, making for a diverse and fun show that incorporates theatrical and improvisatory elements.

Melqui’s leading-up singles (Ojos Verdes, Enamore) received airplay in NPO 2 Soul and Jazz, KINK, and Paradiso’s Summer Tips and were followed by a run of Dutch shows at Cinetol, De Nieuw Anita (Amsterdam), Paard Cafe (Den Haag), Surfana Fest (Bloemendaal), and Tivoli Vredenburg (Utrecht).

After supporting Erlend Øye + La Comitiva and Argentinian Band Cruzando el Charco, playing at U? Le Guess Who? and participating in competitions such as Amsterdam Popprijs, Mooie Noten, and Paradiso Indiestat Zonneprijs. Melqui will showcase their Debut Album in their release show in the Bovenzaal of Paradiso Amsterdam this February.

This production was made possible by the SENA Music Production Fund


Produced by: Lautaro Hochman/Melqui Mixed by: Wessel Oltethen Mastered by: Alex Geurink Engineered by: Hudson Knott Recorded at: 9-1 Guitars - Siebren Smink, Gabriel De Oliveira Keys/Rhodes/Synths/Programming - Kavid Do Drums/Percussion - Yoad Korach Double Bass - Omer Govreen, Aniol Torrents, Hudson Knott Vocals/Guitars - Lautaro Hochman Backing Vocals - Sara Frances Tompkins Percussion/Glokenspiel/Vibraphone - Beatrice Picard Viola - Arina Kuchmina